Students attending Ministry of Education’s (MOE) Primary Schools in Singapore follow a well-defined Science syllabus.

The learning journey can be divided into a Lower Block (Primary Three and Primary Four) and an Upper Block (Primary Five and Primary Six).

The topics are inter-related, anchored by fundamental scientific principles, processes and thinking skills.

The Lower Block establishes the basic foundation of everything a student learns in Science. It may appear simple but it is critically important.

Here is a simple overview.

Primary Three

Theme: Diversity

1. Diversity of things

– their characteristics and classification

(Living & Non-living)

2. Diversity physical properties of materials


Theme: Systems

1. Plants

– parts and functions

2. Human digestive system

Primary Four

Theme: Cycles

1. Life cycles of plants and animals


2. Three states of matter and their properties

– solid, liquid, gas


Theme: Energy

1. Light and shadows

2. Heat and temperature

Theme: Interactions

1. Magnets

With effect from 2017, students are increasingly assessed on their ability to understand and apply scientific concepts, process and thinking skills to realistic scenarios. This is slightly more difficult than simple regurgitation of scientific facts.